Police are investigating an alleged incident of road rage at Mission, after a woman claims that two men pulled out guns and chased her. Glacier Media gave the woman anonymity, as she fears for her safety and retaliation if her identity is revealed. The incident unfolded shortly before 5pm on Wednesday (April 6th) as he was driving from Maple Ridge to Mission along Dewdney Trunk Road. She tried to pass a vehicle on a broken yellow line when the vehicle in front of her overturned, blocking her. “I went to check if there was any opposite movement, it turned a little bit out and I thought it was a bit strange, but maybe there was a puddle or a dead animal that I did not see,” he says. A few minutes later the woman, who is around 20 and is from Mission, signaled and tried to cross again. “I go into the oncoming lane to get through and he just turns completely into the lane and stays there, so I can’t get past him,” he says. She continued on the road with the driver in front of her and claims that the driver stopped abruptly twice. “I lay on my horn for 30 seconds and that was when he braked and checked me for the third time, stopped and saw both the driver’s side and the front passenger door open,” he says. Instinctively, she began to support her vehicle away from them. “The driver ran out and from a small warehouse in the back pulled out something that looked like a hockey stick or lacrosse or something, the passenger was a little late and got out, I saw he had a black revolver.” “The gun was never pointed at me, I saw him button it.” Sgt. Amanda Harnett with the Ridge Meadows RCMP says police are actively investigating an irregular driving incident. “Police have located the registered owners of the two vehicles involved in this incident,” he said. “Speculation on social media suggested the possibility of a firearm being made in this incident, however, at this early stage, investigators have not provided reliable information to suggest that a firearm was involved.” The woman was able to put the vehicle in reverse and drove backwards, claiming that the two men started chasing her. “When I saw them grab their guns … time stopped, I could not believe what was happening,” he says. “You never really expect that to happen to you. “Honestly, the crap scared me.” He called and reported the incident to the police, who rushed to the scene. “I just hope this does not happen to anyone else,” he says. The vehicle actually had a BC license plate and is described as a “decommissioned” ambulance. The incident was recorded on camera footage. This can be a frightening event for any driver. Road crashes can occur for many reasons and this person did the right thing by staying in his vehicle, says Harnett. “I want to warn the public, however, of any speculation about the motive behind the incident.” This investigation is still active and ongoing and the police are asking anyone with information to contact them at 604-463-6251.

“When I saw them grab their guns … time stopped, I could not believe what was happening,” he says. Police are investigating an alleged incident of road rage at Mission, after a woman claims that two men pulled out guns and chased her. pic.twitter.com/OBWiY1CeXZ – Alanna Kelly (@AlannaKellyNews) April 8, 2022