Two men lost their lives in the collision. Steve spoke to make sure the victim’s family knew the man who died knew his daughter was safe before he died. The 59-year-old from Huddersfield was traveling in the M62 on Wednesday morning when he encountered the accident. She said she and a group of men tried to save a teenage girl from an flammable HGV and a man believed to be her father, who was in the driver’s seat. Despite Steve’s best efforts, she was unable to free the man. But she stayed with him, holding the man’s hand and making sure he knew his daughter was safe and had been saved before she died on the spot. Read more: Worship leader who raped women for 30 years dies in prison at 81 The rescuer told Hull Live: “I did the best I could and I feel like I failed the family because I could not do more. I just really need his family to know that the last word he heard was that we saved his daughter and she was safe. “I was holding his hand and telling him I was sorry until the last moment.” Steve remembers seeing the accident in front of him, before then running down the road and starting to rescue those involved. He was accompanied by three other men who were trying to force open the damaged door of the HGV involved and broke the passenger window, Yorkshire Live reports. Steve Wroe (Image: Hull Live) The team used a fire extinguisher to extinguish the flames but prevented them. Steve held the man’s hand as it became clear he could not be saved. Steve informed the man that his daughter had been released and was safe, which it was clear the man had understood. Steve stayed with the victim until the last moment and wants the family to know that he was not alone. Steve said: “I got to a point where I told him I had to leave and it was over in a few seconds. “The only other option would be to go into the cabin with him, but there was so much fire and smoke. It was not safe to do more and I had to think about my own family at that time. “I have to tell the other guys who helped, they were just 10 out of 10 and real heroes. I can only hope the girl is well.” The crash, which occurred at around 9.50am on the morning of April 6 at Goole, claimed the lives of two men – a 53-year-old man driving a truck and a 54-year-old man driving a car. The 15-year-old girl remains in hospital in serious condition, according to the latest Humberside police reports. Oliver North, Steve Wroe’s employer, said: “I went straight to the hospital to pick up Steve when I heard what happened. His kit was completely charred and his face was still covered in soot. Steve was coughing and choking. He stayed. with oxygen for two hours after the incident.We believe he is an absolute hero and a truly incredible man. “The thing is, Steve would never normally have fallen like that, as he’s based mostly in Brighouse. Our company is currently manufacturing ambulances for Ukraine and was leading parts to our Goole factory. “He is so passionate about saving lives that he wanted to get involved in the project in any way he could, that’s just him. “It is not surprising that he did not hesitate to run on this road and do everything he could to help these victims.” The company told him that Steve would return to work on Monday, at his own request. Read more related articles Read more related articles