Who is Mattea Roach? The 23-year-old Halifax woman won the Jeopardy round on Tuesday night! and left with $ 32,001. “I had the best time,” Roach said in a telephone interview with CTV Atlantic on Wednesday. “I could have won nothing and still had the best time.” Roach, who graduated from the University of Toronto in 2020, says the money will help her pay off her student loans. “My student loan has been repaid!” she exclaimed on TV after learning she was the new champion. “I hope to go back to school, so it will be more; now I start from scratch!” Roach, a teacher, confronted Camron Conners, a high school social studies teacher from California, and Kathleen Snyder, a Virginia contractor. The final category was “classic games” with the following element: “Ruben Klamer, who died in 2021 at the age of 99, developed this game that is related to ‘literally everyone on earth.’” Snyder and Roach answered correctly with “What is Life?” but Roach was already in first place with $ 18,000, and with a bet of 14,001, it retained its first place and left the stage as champion. “I wanted to bet strategically to win,” Roach told Jeopardy! host Mayim Bialik. “I was like, maybe I will find out, and I was lucky.” “You can be a winner in Game of Life”, is what it says on the box, so here it is! Bialik replied. “Congratulations!”

‘REALLY INTENSIVE EXPERIENCE’

While her first thought when she realized she had won was that she could repay her student loans, her second thought was that she would have to film another episode right after. “Oh, wow, I have to do it again,” he said. “It’s a really intense experience, filming an episode of Jeopardy! “I was just completely in the zone.” Roach could not say whether she won other rounds, of course, but said she would probably invest potential profits in the future. “I am generally a very practical person. “I was never going to become someone who would go to a toy show and buy a very fancy car,” he said. “My inclination is more to try to invest it and save it for the future. “I realize it’s not a very fun answer.” Roach was quick to answer another question during Tuesday night’s episode, thanks to her roots in Nova Scotia: “The Nova Scotia Duck Tolling is a breed of athletic dog for which ‘Fetch’ should be instinctive,” the statement said. “What is a retriever?” replied Roots, who was the first to shout. “I can not do it wrong, this is my homeland!” As for the risk! Presenter Mayim Bialik, Roach said it was “very good” and “calm presence before the show”.

“IT WAS COMPLETE”

Roach applied for the first time to appear on the long-running toy show in 2020. This January, she was invited to Los Angeles to film an episode. “It was definitely something I always thought would be interesting to do,” he said. “When Alex Trebek died, I was thinking a lot about the show. I was like, ‘I have to take this test and see what happens.’ “I did it out of a whim, but it was something I always wanted to do.” While Roach is from Halifax, it also has close ties to Cape Breton. Her mom is from Ingonish, NS, and her father is from New Waterford, NS, and many of her relatives still live on the island. They showed their support before her Danger! the debut of what Roach described as “Cape Breton extreme behavior”, adding “Good luck Mattea” to the sign at their grocery store in Marion Bridge, NS

In what I can only call a show of “Cape Breton extreme behavior”, my mom’s cousin picked it up at the grocery store he runs and my great aunt / uncle at Marion Bridge – feeling so incredibly supportive !! Two more days ✨ pic.twitter.com/bORqgiOuvp – Mattea Roach (@mattearoach) April 3, 2022 A group of relatives also gathered for a watch party Tuesday night at a sports bar owned by a family friend in Sydney, New York. Roach said she heard they were planning to return to the Steel City Sports Bar to watch Wednesday night’s episode. “It was overwhelming, to be completely honest,” she said of the support she received both online and in her hometown of Nova Scotia. “I think it’s so special. One of the things I love most about Nova Scotia is how much we support our people. If a Nova Scotian achieves something, everyone knows it. I think this energy is so nice. “ Roach will return to Jeopardy! Wednesday night to meet Vernon Ng, an associate professor of English from Washington, and Lana Altman, a digital programmer from Connecticut.